Skip to content

Om My Blog.. by Love Peace Yoga.com

sharing yoga, health & wellness info around the world


Remember when you were a little kid able to run and jump without fear of falling?  Remember the sensation you felt when you were pumping your legs back and forth on the swings on a beautiful summer day.  I am fortunate to say that I got to experience that thrill of flying free in my anti gravity yoga class today at Core Connection in Long Hill Township NJ.  I basically found it by accident although we all know there are no accidents just acts of karma out in the universe waiting to connect people.  So it turns out that I made a little Facebook connection with an awesome new friend named Dana who happens to own this fantastic mecca of flying and it gets even better because she was located in NJ!

I checked out her website and to my amazement there were pictures of people hanging from silks bolted to the wall practicing yoga.  It took me about 2 seconds to start typing in map quest to get directions and I had a new yoga destination to head for in the morning.  I have been looking into and researching all types of acro yoga for the last year or so when I started on my journey with lovepeaceyoga so you can understand my unbridled joy when I found a place I could invert and hang from and do acrobatics..  I headed for the 10:30 class with Kevin and got to the lovely studio with 30 minutes to prep myself for what was to come.

The studio itself is a beautiful , serene collection of rooms with the most beautiful selection of buddhas and plaques with meaningful sayings throughout.  Every detail was attended to in the construction of this studio.  There are beautiful locker area and showers for those who wish to freshen up after their classes .  Dana, the owner and founder took me right up to the class to help me become familiar with the “silks” and what I was supposed to be doing in this silks.  I was eager to get going with this not realizing how uncomfortable I would be until I had everything adjusted for my height.  Once my silks were adjusted I was good to go.  In walked Kevin our instructor for the hour who started the class off with asking us to enclose ourselves in the body of the silks creating a womb.  I was so relaxed as I pushed any negative thoughts out of my head for the practice and opened my heart up to a new form of exploration.  There were inversions, handstands, flying pidgeon, beautiful graceful backbends as we soared and swung in a playful yet purposeful manner.  There was no pressure on any part of my body especially great that my knees got a break from cat cow.  We did modifyed poses and asanas using the silks to guide us and push us to our edge.

In the end when we were blessed with shivasana we were again cocooned back in the envelope of the silk recreating the womb of the beginning and resting comfortable swaying gently with each inhalation and exhalation moving the silks.  My favorite part of the shivasana was when Kevin pushed on my back causing it to rise up into a floating backbend which was the most delicious feeling to be free.  I felt like thumbelina who is so small and needed to sleep inside the bud of a rose.

The entire class I had a feeling of adventure, playful, fun and yet i knew my mind and my body were both working hard at the same time.  So come out to Core Connection and let your body and your mind fly free and clear.  Life is here for us to enjoy the present moment, take a moment to just breathe and believe that all the power lies within you.

IMPORTANT TIPS:  ANTI GRAVITY YOGA REQUIRES SOME INSTRUCTION SO PLEASE REMEMBER TO ARRIVE AT THE STUDIO AT LEAST 20 MINUTES BEFORE YOUR FIRST CLASS TO GET ACCLIMATED.  REMOVE ALL JEWELRY BECAUSE IT CAN RIP THE BEAUTIFUL SILKS AND YOU REALLY NEED YOUR FINGERS FREE TO GRIP THE SILKS.

http://www.coreconnectionstudio.com

http://www.lovepeaceyoga.com

jill@lovepeaceyoga.com  Share the footprints of your journey  Namaste  Jill

explore this bliss and come fly free with antigravity yoga

