Skip to content

Om My Blog.. by Love Peace Yoga.com

sharing yoga, health & wellness info around the world


Shiva.. Parvati & a fish called Matsya.. honor the relationship between teacher and student



Shiva.. Parvati & a fish called Matsya.. honor the relationship between teacher and student

Go with the flow & stimulate that thyroid gland with Matsyasana.


Over the last 6 years my yoga practice has truly evolved.  I realized that I had to check my ego at the door and completely surrender to the mat below me on a day to day basis..

I discovered that I was not invinsible and was dismayed to discover that I have an underactive thyroid which was reeking havoc on my body and mind.  I had to dig deep to find a better way to combat this condition and refused to just rely on the medicine to make me better.  I dove into my yoga practice with a mission to teach myself how to find ways within my practice to activiate my thyroid.

While focusing on Matsyasana and other asana poses to stimulate my thyroid I am happy to report that not only do I physically feel better but that my tests reflect the changes that I have helped produce for myself..

Matsyasana.. Fish pose

So I wanted to share the story of the Fish for those of you who might not be aware of it’s origin and share my story about honoring the teacher and student within.
Namaste.. Jill

Matsyasana, the Fish,  was one of the incarnations of the Hindu God Vishnu. Vishnu assumed this form to save the world from the Flood.


The story is told that while meditating for many years Shiva was granted the  key to the universe and which uncovered the mystery of Yoga. Shiva quickly shared this glorious discovery with his wife Parvati while unbeknown to them  Vishnu in the form of a fish was listening to them.

As he absorbed the information magical things began to happen and he became enlightened by Shiva’s words.  Shiva became the first “guru’ and Matsya became the first “student”.  Here began a long lineage of teachers and students who have blessed their teachings down to students and teachers throughout the centuries.

Since your thyroid gland controls so many functions in your body keeping it active and stimulated  is very important especially as you get older.

Regular yoga practice can help in weight management. Some of the asanas stimulate sluggish glands to increase their hormonal secretions. The thyroid gland, especially, has a big effect on our weight because it affects body metabolism. There are several asanas, such as the shoulder stand and the fish posture, which are specific for the thyroid gland. Fat metabolism is also increased, so fat is converted to muscle and energy.  This means that, as well as losing fat, you will have better muscle tone and a higher vitality level.

Sarvangasana

It is important to note that thyroid cells are the ONLY cells in the body which are able to absorb iodine.   Iodine is a vital trace mineral which is found in food.

Iodine is an integral component in the creation of thyroid hormone and, thus, the metabolism. The metabolism refers to the way the body turns food into energy. It’s elemental to our lives.

Honor the teacher and student within.. arm yourself with knowledge.. find ways within the yoga world to help you heal and protect your mind, body & your spirt.. Go with the flow into a healthier existence with yoga.


Shifting gracefully into a new season after such a glorious summer has never been easy for me.  If I have a rainy day I try to remember the warm summer sun generously scooping me up in it’s warmth and radiance..
I learn everyday through my practice to be patient with my body and my mind.
I welcome the new seasons with deep breaths and an open heart and spirit.
I share these sentiments with you wishing you all a glorious fall season.
If you have any retreat reviews you wish to share with my readers or upcoming retreats, workshops or teacher trainings please feel free to contact me at jill@lovepeaceyoga.com
Shanti, Shanti,Shanti
Namaste


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

